Get social with us; or just more anti-social networking? I got an email yesterday with a subject line of "Get social with us". It was from "Modnique" (email: events@modnique.com). I really have no idea who they are, and bet they have no idea who I am or what my interests (social or otherwise) might be. Their email was directed to: dysishg245@ one of my domains.Their email is almost 100% graphical, which to me is pretty anti-social and since gmail doesn't show their graphics by default, a bet few will actually see their message! Now, I'll type in what they have to say and my analysis of it. If I want to click any of their images I have to get redirected and tracked by bronto.com, not very inspiring, since they already don't have any clue about who I am (or not). "Get social with us. Join our growing online community and begin your Modnique social experience." Maybe I would be more inspired if I knew who or what Modnique actually was! "Like us [facebook thumb up]. Join our facebook community and get insider access to facebook exclusive content." Sounds like they are going to be yelling more promotional B.S. at me and not actually being social with me. Sounds like some pretty one-sided getting social. "Inspired. Your LOOK, our BOOK. An online forum for our members to share their favorite looks and inspirational styles." Ok, now maybe we're in the ballpark. But how I can check it out without getting BRONTOed? Every link (even to their privacy policy and unsubscribe [I never subscribed]) redirects and tracks me through BRONTO. I know even less about who or what they are and have even less interest in being tracked and subjected to more socialization by them. "Tweet, Tweet! Get updates on our Happy Hour sales, contests and promos. We'll keep you in style and up to date about everything from the latest trends to the best fashion deals". In 142 characters or less, I doubt it. Plus it sounds pretty one sided again! Then they had some non-social promotional graphics, and at the end noted: "This email was sent to you because you are a valued Modnique member". If they consider some random email address at one of my domains, "dysishg245" to be some kind of "value".... I can't imagine what would happen if I clicked on something and got BRONTOed! Anyway, yesterday, I emailed them: "Is this really social or just a way we can listen to you make your announcements? Social is a two way street!" I haven't heard back, so I guess they don't want to be social, at least not with me. Expert Page: What is social engagement? |